IN RESPONSE, PLEASE REFER TO: M130529

June 13, 2013

| MEMORANDUM TO: | R. W. Borchardt Executive Director for Operations | |
|----------------|--|---|
| FROM: | Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary | /RA/ |
| SUBJECT: | STAFF REQUIREMENTS – BRIEFING ON AGENCY ACTION REVIEW MEETING (AA WEDNESDAY, MAY 29, 2013, COMMISSI CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLIN ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUE | ARM), 9:00 A.M., ONERS' IT NORTH, |

The Commission was briefed by the NRC staff on the results of its annual Agency Action Review Meeting (AARM) regarding licensee performance held on April 24, 2013. In addition, representatives of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) briefed the Commission on performance improvement activities at Browns Ferry Unit 1. TVA was represented by Preston D. Swafford, Chief Nuclear Officer and Executive Vice President, Nuclear Power Group; Charles (Chip) G. Pardee, Executive Vice President and Chief Generation Officer; James R. Morris, Senior Vice President Nuclear Operations; Keith J. Polson, Site Vice President, Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant; and Daniel Langdon Hughes, Senior Manager Nuclear Plant Operations, Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant. Representatives of Omaha Public Power District (OPPD) briefed the Commission on performance improvement activities at Fort Calhoun Station. OPPD was represented by W. Gary Gates, Chief Executive Officer and President; and Louis P. Cortopassi, Fort Calhoun Station Site Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer.

As part of the Reactor Oversight Process Self-Assessment for calendar year 2013, the staff should review implementation of the Industry Trends Program over its history for lessons learned and inform the Commission of any program enhancements and/or resource reductions that may be warranted.

The staff should continue to provide context when communicating the number of medical events by comparing the number of events with the number of medical procedures, as well as providing the medical benefits of the procedures.

The staff should consider vehicles for Commission discussion regarding the performance of Agreement State Programs.

cc: Chairman Macfarlane Commissioner Svinicki Commissioner Apostolakis Commissioner Magwood Commissioner Ostendorff OGC CFO OCA OIG OPA Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR