

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Vincent P. Mathews, MD President Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Robert M. Barr, MD President-elect Charlotte. North Carolina

John A. Kaufman, MD Secretary-Treasurer Portland, Oregon

Kaled M. Alektiar, MD New York, New York

Cheri L. Canon, MD Birmingham, Alabama

Donald J. Flemming, MD Hershey, Pennsylvania

Toby A. Gordon, ScD Baltimore, Maryland

Mary S. Newell, MD Atlanta, Georgia

J. Anthony Seibert, PhD Sacramento, California

EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP

Brent Wagner, MD, MBA Executive Director Tucson, Arizona

ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

N. Reed Dunnick, MD Diagnostic Radiology Ann Arbor, Michigan

James B. Spies, MD, MPH Interventional Radiology Potomac, Maryland

Geoffrey S. Ibbott, PhD Medical Physics Jericho, Vermont

Paul E. Wallner, DO Radiation Oncology Moorestown, New Jersey April 6, 2022

Maryann Ayoade Division of Materials Safety, Security, State and Tribal Programs Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards US Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

Dear Ms. Ayoade:

This letter confirms our videoconference conversation of March 17, 2022, during which we informed you of the American Board of Radiology's intent to eliminate our processes for offering Authorized User-Eligibility (AU-E), Authorized Medical Physicist-Eligible (AMP-Eligible) and Radiation Safety Officer-Eligible (RSO-Eligible) designations on ABR certificates awarded after December 31, 2023. As we discussed, the ABR's Board of Governors has determined that this function (1) is outside of our mission and (2) diverts resources that we need to deploy so that we can continue enhancing our exam delivery and customer service. The Board has given me the responsibility and authority to act as the ABR designee for all official correspondence with the NRC, including this notification.

We will continue to comply with the requirements established for this program, including those outlined in the letter of March 15 from Kevin Williams in your office (a reply to that letter is being drafted separately).

Sincerely,

Brent Wagner, MD Executive Director

cc: Vince Mathews, MD David Laszakovits, MBA