

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

August 4, 2021

MEMORANDUM TO: Gregory F. Suber, Director

Environmental Justice Review Team Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Allen H. Fetter, Senior Project Manager /RA/

New Reactor Licensing Branch

Division of New and Renewed Licenses Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF JULY 15, 2020, PUBLIC MEETINGS TO

DISCUSS KICKOFF OF AGENCY EFFORT TO REVIEW APPROACH TO ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE REVIEWS

On July 15, 2021, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held two public meetings via teleconferences to facilitate participation from interested parties in different time zones and availabilities, the NRC had an afternoon session¹ from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m. Eastern and an evening session² from 8:00 to 9:30 p.m. Eastern. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss staff's efforts in assessing Environmental Justice (EJ), in NRC's programs, policies, and activities as directed by the Commission in Staff Requirements Memorandum (SRM) M210218B.³

At the start of the meeting, the NRC staff stated that the meeting was a comment gathering meeting, and as with all NRC public meetings, no regulatory decisions will be made. The NRC staff provided a short presentation⁴ that provided a brief overview of the current NRC approach to EJ and posed some questions to stimulate the conversation. Further, the NRC staff identified a recently issued *Federal Register* Notice (86 FR 36307)⁵ that identified this comment opportunity. Both the presentation and *Federal Register* Notice identified multiple ways that interested parties could provide comments on this effort. Both the afternoon⁶ and evening⁷ meeting were transcribed.

¹ The notice for the afternoon public meeting is available in the Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) under Accession No. ML21193A133.

² The notice for the evening public meeting is available in ADAMS under Accession No ML21193A132.

³ SRM M210218B is available in ADAMS under Accession No. ML21113A070.

⁴ The NRC staff slides are in ADAMS under Accession No. ML21193A295.

⁵ The Federal Register Notice is available at https://www.federalregister.gov/d/2021-14673.

⁶ The transcript of the afternoon public meeting is available in ADAMS under Accession No. ML21200A183.

⁷ The transcript of the evening public meeting is available in ADAMS under Accesssion No. ML21200A189.

G. Suber - 2 -

Attendees represented a broad range of perspectives including environmental organizations, tribal representatives, community organizers, individual community members, and industry. Questions and/or comments were received from the following members of the public and have been preserved in the previously referenced transcript:

Afternoon Session

- Fred Collins, Tribal Chair, Northern Chumash Tribal Council
- Pamela Greenlaw, Sierra Club
- Ellen Ginsbergh, Nuclear Energy Institute
- Elaine Cooper, Sierra Club
- Chip Cameron, CameronGray LLC
- Tangee Brice Jacobs, Community Organizer
- Priscilla Preston, Sierra Club
- Lillie Lane, Navajo Nation Environmental Protection Agency
- Virginia Sanders, Community Organizer
- Jeff Semancik, Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection

Evening Session

- Priscilla Preston, Sierra Club
- Pamela Greenlaw, Sierra Club
- Tangee Brice Jacobs, Community Organizer
- Elaine Cooper, Sierra Club

The attendee lists enclosed with this summary are a composite of the names registered with the phone operator and those who signed into the Teams meeting to view the slides.

No regulatory decisions were made in the meeting. The NRC's Public Document Room resource can provide assistance accessing documents referenced. This resource can be reached at https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/pdr.html or (301) 415-4737 from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Eastern Monday through Friday except Federal holidays.

Enclosure: List of Attendees

LIST OF ATTENDEES

JULY 15, 2021, PUBLIC MEETING

TO DISCUSS KICKOFF OF AGENCY EFFORT TO REVIEW APPROACH TO

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE REVIEWS

AFTERNOON SESSION

Name
Jessica Bielecki
Gregory Suber
Allen Fetter
Ed Miller
Allan Barker
Megan Casper
Cara Eule
Michael Callahan
Joan Olmstead
Astrika Adams
Dave McIntyre
Anita Ghosh Naber
Anthony Leshinskie
Darlene Jenkins
Curtis Moore
Heather Westra
Jason Zorn
Nima Ashkeboussi
Adam Stein
Tracy Fuentes
Keith Miller
Amy Browning
Jonathan Rund
Justin Weatherwax
Ellen Ginsburg
Elaine Moran
Vivian Craig
Carolyn Wolf
Sheila Ruffin
Heather Neely
Jacki Toth
Susan Sterrett
Jean Mendoza
Miriam Juckett
Jeffrey Rikhoff
Laurie Gharis
David Crowley
Jeffrey Semancik
Charlotte Rose
Jenny Weil

AFTERNOON SE
Name
Robert Jones
Stephanie Fishman
Robin Griffin
Emma Wong
Mary Sue Miranda
Susan Gallier
Patrick White
Jana Bergman
Andrew Zach
Sarah Ladin
Jessica Lovering
Jean Mendoza
Rosalyn Steward
Harry Felsher
Katie Godding
Mike Callahan
Virgil Siow
Astrika Adams
Jared Smith
Dave Goodman
Stephanie Bilenko
Shakur Walker
Sage Mountainflower
Jeanette Pablo
Vonna Ordaz
Thomas De Pree
Angela Coggins
Niko McMurray
Amy Powell
Heather Neely
John Pelchat
Demi Gary
Menaka Atree
Pat Marida
Tommy Tomczak
Margaret Middaugh
Joseph Shea
Edwin Lea
Diana Diaz Toro

Mary Spencer

Name
Andrea Salazar
Jennifer Tobin
Victor Ibarra
Martin O'Neill
Mike Ruhe
Janelle Jessie
Stephanie Bilenko
Jeff Sharkey
Amie Robinson
Jill Caverly
Todd Evans
Keisha Lone
Lillie Lane
Erin Teague
Joseph Abeyta
Steven Hamrisk
Kimberlie Cole
Patrick White
Martin O'Neill
LeighAnne Lloveras
Chris (last name unknown)
Randy Belles
Lisa Matis
Robert Lewis
Mary Maccarron
Ray Kuyler
Hilary Jacobs
Megan Casper
Susan Gallier
Thomas DePree
Kevin Kamps
Anthony Leshinskie
Jonathan Rund
Heather Westra
Shirah Thietje
Tracey LeRoy
Keith Miller
Tuwanda Smith
Pamela Greenlaw

LIST OF ATTENDEES

JULY 15, 2021, PUBLIC MEETING

TO DISCUSS KICKOFF OF AGENCY EFFORT TO REVIEW APPROACH TO

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE REVIEWS

EVENING SESSION

Name	Name	
Gregory Suber	Diane Derichards	
Jessica Bielecki	Stuart Walker	
Allen Fetter	Nicole Saulsberry	
Jeff Rikhoff	Annemieke Tennis	
Matthew Miller	Suzanne Dennis	
Dave McIntyre	Pamela Greenlaw	
Anita Ghosh	Diana Diaz-Toro	
Lance Rakovan	Elaine Cooper	
Joan Olmstead	Jenny Tobin	
Ed Miller	Ray Keyoel	
Jim Delano	Janelle Jessie	
Robert Kersek	Tony Malcanishi	
Jennie Weil	Molly Mathison	
Edwin Lea	Angela Coggins	
Caroline Wolf	Tangee Bryce Jac	
Joel Pappa	Amie Robinson	
Prisilla Preston	Heather Neely	
Becky Toast	Catherine Kanatas	
Amy Browning	Jessie Juingero	
Hilary Jacobs	Sandra Talos	
Allan Barker	Miriam (Last name	
Patrick White	Duncan White	
Edward Wills	Ray Kuyler	
Marna McDermott	Angela Coggins	
Tammy Tomczak	Miriam Juckett	
Jackie Toth	Christopher Nord	
John Pelchat	Don Hyde	
Ray Kuyler	Stuart Walker	
Emike Omogbai	Nima Ashkebouss	
Tuwanda Smith		

Name
Diane Derichards
Stuart Walker
Nicole Saulsberry
Annemieke Tennis
Suzanne Dennis
Pamela Greenlaw
Diana Diaz-Toro
Elaine Cooper
Jenny Tobin
Ray Keyoel
Janelle Jessie
Tony Malcanishi
Molly Mathison
Angela Coggins
Tangee Bryce Jacobs
Amie Robinson
Heather Neely
Catherine Kanatas
Jessie Juingero
Sandra Talos
Miriam (Last name unknown)
Duncan White
Ray Kuyler
Angela Coggins
Miriam Juckett
Christopher Nord
Don Hyde
Stuart Walker
Nima Ashkeboussi

G. Suber - 3 -

SUMMARY OF JULY 15, 2020, PUBLIC MEETINGS TO DISCUSS KICKOFF OF SUBJECT:

AGENCY EFFORT TO REVIEW APPROACH TO ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE

REVIEWS AUGUST 4, 2021

DISTRIBUTION: PUBLIC PM File Copy RidsNrrLAKGoldstein Resource RidsOpaMail Resource RidsOcaMail Resource GSuber, NRR JBielecki, NRR EMiller, NRR AFetter, NRR

ADAMS Accession Nos.: ML21208A423 (Package) **ML21201A249 (Summary)**

ML21193A132 & ML21193A133 (Meeting Notices)

OFFICE	NRR/DORL/LPL2-1/PM	NRR/DORL/LPL2-1/LA	NRR/DNRL/NRLB/PM
NAME	GEMiller	KGoldstein	AFetter
DATE	08/2/2021	08/02/2021	08/4/2021
OFFICE	NRR/EJRT/D	NRR/DORL/LPL2-1/PM	
NAME	GSuber	GEMiller	
DATE	08/3/2021	8/4/2021	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY