

Callaway Plant

October 22, 2020

ULNRC-06613

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attn: Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

> 40 CFR 190 10CFR 72.44(d)(2)

Ladies and Gentlemen:

DOCKET NUMBER 50-483 AND 72-1045 CALLAWAY PLANT UNIT 1 UNION ELECTRIC CO. RENEWED FACILITY OPERATING LICENSE NPF-30 RESUBMITTAL OF 2019 ANNUAL RADIOLOGICAL ENVIRONMENTAL OPERATING REPORT

Reference:

Ameren Missouri Letter ULNRC-06578, "2019 Annual Radiological Environmental Report," dated April 30, 2020

Per the above-referenced letter dated April 30, 2020, Ameren Missouri (Union Electric) intended to submit the 2019 Annual Radiological Environmental Operating Report (AREOR) for the Callaway Plant (Callaway Energy Center), as required in accordance with Section 5.6.2 of the Callaway Plant Technical Specifications and Appendix B to the Callaway Plant Operating License. The AREOR concerns the environmental monitoring program established for the Callaway Energy Center, which also pertains to the independent spent fuel storage facility at the plant site, consistent with Section 5.1.b of Appendix A to the HI-STORM UMAX Certificates of Compliance.

The April 30, 2020 letter was transmitted to all NRC recipients on the "cc" list (i.e., the Regional Administrator, Director - Division of Spent Fuel Management, Senior Resident Inspector, and Project Manager for the Callaway Plant), to other recipients including the Missouri State Official (Department of Natural Resources) and all recipients on the electronic distribution list. However, it was only recently discovered and confirmed that due to an administrative error, the letter was not transmitted to the NRC via the Electronic Information Exchange (EIE). Consequently, the letter is not in ADAMS and thus not publicly accessible as required (as there is no ADAMS Accession No. for the letter).

ULNRC-06613 October 22, 2020 Page 2 of 4

To correct the situation, it was requested that the 2019 AREOR and the original transmittal letter be transmitted by a new letter, which would be properly transmitted via EIE. Consistent with that request, this letter is hereby transmitted with the original AREOR transmittal letter provided as Attachment 1 and with the 2019 AREOR itself provided as Attachment 2.

Ameren Missouri regrets any inconvenience caused by the error and delay in the EIE transmittal of the 2019 AREOR. This letter does not contain new commitments.

If there are any questions, please contact Vince D. Miller at (314) 225-1558.

Sincerely,

Vince D. Miller Radiation Protection Manager

Attachments:

- 1. Ameren Missouri Letter ULNRC-06578, "2019 Annual Radiological Environmental Operating Report," dated April 30, 2020
- 2. 2019 Annual Radiological Environmental Operating Report

ULNRC-06613 October 22, 2020 Page 3 of 4

cc: Mr. Scott A. Morris Regional Administrator U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region IV 1600 East Lamar Boulevard Arlington, TX 76011-4511

> Director Division of Spent Fuel Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Senior Resident Inspector Callaway Resident Office U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 8201 NRC Road Steedman, MO 65077

Mr. Mahesh Chawla Project Manager, Callaway Plant Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O8B1A Washington, DC 20555-0001 ULNRC-06613 October 22, 2020 Page 4 of 4

Index and send hardcopy to QA File A160.0761

Hardcopy:

Certrec Corporation 6100 Western Place, Suite 1050 Fort Worth, TX 76107 (Certrec receives ALL attachments as long as they are non-safeguards and may be publicly disclosed.)

Ryan Reece Environmental Specialist III Northeast Regional Office Missouri Department of Natural Resources 1709 Prospect Drive Macon, MO 63552

Electronic distribution for the following can be made via Responses and Reports ULNRC Distribution:

F. M. Diya B. L. Cox F. J. Bianco S. P. Banker J. S. Geyer R. C. Wink T. B. Elwood F. J. Beckfield M. Kohlbusch NSRB Secretary Ms. Melissa Friel, REP Manager (SEMA) **STARS Regulatory Affairs** Mr. Jay Silberg (Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP) Mr. Chris Wieberg (DNR) Mr. Ryan Reece (DNR) Mr. Ed Galbraith (DNR) Ms. Katie Jo Wheeler (DNR)