VIRGINIA ELECTRIC AND POWER COMPANY RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23261

May 20, 2020

10 CFR 50

10 CFR 51 10 CFR 54

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Attention: Document Control Desk

Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Serial Nos.:

20-060A

NRA/DEA: R0'

Docket Nos.: 50-280/281

License Nos.: DPR-32/37

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC AND POWER COMPANY
SURRY POWER STATION (SPS) UNITS 1 AND 2
SUBSEQUENT LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION (SLRA)
REQUEST FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
REGARDING ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW (#2)
COASTAL ZONE MANAGEMENT ACT (CZMA)
CONSISTENCY CERTIFICATION STATUS UPDATE

By letter dated February 28, 2020 [Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Accession No. ML20062C033], Dominion Energy responded to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's February 5, 2020 request for additional information (RAI) [(ADAMS) Accession No. ML20029D838] regarding the SPS SLRA Environmental Review. The RAI was related to a Conditional Concurrence finding on Dominion Energy's application for CZMA consistency certification issued by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ) regarding measures to minimize impacts to fishery resources from operation of the cooling water intake at SPS.

Dominion Energy continues to correspond with VDEQ and the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries with the goal of obtaining a revised CZMA consistency determination letter from the VDEQ. Currently, discussions are still in progress. Dominion Energy cannot anticipate when a revised CZMA consistency determination letter will be obtained. An update on the status of the ongoing discussions or a response will be provided within 30 days from the date of this letter.

Serial Nos. 20-060A Docket Nos. 50-280/281 SPS SLRA ER RAI #2 Resolution CZMA Consistency Cert. Update Page 2 of 7

If you have any questions or require additional information regarding this submittal, please contact Mr. Paul Aitken at (804) 273-2818.

Sincerely,

Mark D. Sartain

Vice President - Nuclear Engineering and Fleet Support

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA COUNTY OF HENRICO)
	1
	,

The foregoing document was acknowledged before me, in and for the County and Commonwealth aforesaid, today by Mark D. Sartain, who is Vice President - Nuclear Engineering and Fleet Support of Virginia Electric and Power Company. He has affirmed before me that he is duly authorized to execute and file the foregoing document in behalf of that Company, and that the statements in the document are true to the best of his knowledge and belief.

Acknowledged before me this 20th day of May, 2020

My Commission Expires: Warch 31, 2022

Notary Public

Commitments made in this letter: None

DIANE E. AITKEN
NOTARY PUBLIC
REG. #7763114
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES MARCH 31, 2022

cc: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region II

Marquis One Tower

245 Peachtree Center Avenue, NE

Suite 1200

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1257

NRC Senior Resident Inspector

Surry Power Station

Ms. Lauren Gibson

NRC Project Manager

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

Mail Stop O 11F1

11555 Rockville Pike

Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

Ms. Angela Wu

NRC Project Manager

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

Mail Stop O 11F1

11555 Rockville Pike

Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

Mr. Tam Tran

NRC Project Manager

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

Mail Stop O 11F1

11555 Rockville Pike

Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

Mr. G. Edward Miller

NRC Senior Project Manager

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

Mail Stop O-9E3

11555 Rockville Pike

Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

Serial Nos. 20-060A Docket Nos. 50-280/281 SPS SLRA ER RAI #2 Resolution CZMA Consistency Cert. Update Page 4 of 7

Mr. Vaughn Thomas
NRC Project Manager
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
One White Flint North
Mail Stop O 4F12
11555 Rockville Pike
Rockville, Maryland 20852-2738

State Health Commissioner
Virginia Department of Health
James Madison Building — 7th Floor
109 Governor Street
Room 730
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Mr. David K. Paylor, Director Virginia Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 1105 Richmond, VA 23218

Ms. Melanie D. Davenport, Director Water Permitting Division Virginia Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 1105 Richmond, VA 23218

Ms. Bettina Rayfield, Manager
Office of Environmental Impact Review
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218

Mr. Michael Dowd, Director Air Division Virginia Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 1105 Richmond, VA 23218 Serial Nos. 20-060A Docket Nos. 50-280/281 SPS SLRA ER RAI #2 Resolution CZMA Consistency Cert. Update Page 5 of 7

Mr. Justin Williams, Director Division of Land Protection and Revitalization Virginia Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 1105 Richmond, VA 23218

Mr. James Golden, Regional Director Virginia Department of Environmental Quality Piedmont Regional Office 4949-A Cox Road Glen Allen, VA 23060

Mr. Craig R. Nicol, Regional Director Virginia Department of Environmental Quality Tidewater Regional Office 5636 Southern Blvd Virginia Beach, VA 23462

Ms. Jewel Bronaugh, Commissioner
Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
102 Governor Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Mr. Jason Bulluck, Director Virginia Department of Conservation & Recreation Virginia Natural Heritage Program 600 East Main Street, 24th Floor Richmond, VA 23219

Mr. Robert W. Duncan, Director Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries P.O. Box 90778 Henrico, VA 23228

Mr. Allen Knapp, Director Virginia Department of Health Office of Environmental Health Services 109 Governor St, 5th Floor Richmond, VA 23129 Ms. Julie Lagan, Director Virginia Department of Historic Resources State Historic Preservation Office 2801 Kensington Ave Richmond, VA 23221

Mr. Steven G. Bowman, Commissioner Virginia Marine Resources Commission 380 Fenwick Rd. Building 96 Fort Monroe, VA 23651

Dr. Mary Fabrizio, Professor Virginia Institute of Marine Science School of Marine Science 7509 Roper Rd, Nunnally Hall 135 Gloucester Point, VA 23062

Ms. Angel Deem, Director Virginia Department of Transportation Environmental Division 1401 East Broad St Richmond, VA 23219

Mr. Stephen Moret, President Virginia Economic Development Partnership 901 East Byrd St Richmond, VA 23219

Mr. William F. Stephens, Director Virginia State Corporation Commission Division of Public Utility Regulation 1300 East Main St, 4th FI, Tyler Bldg Richmond, VA 23219

Mr. Jeff Caldwell, Director Virginia Department of Emergency Management 10501 Trade Rd Richmond, VA 23236 Serial Nos. 20-060A Docket Nos. 50-280/281 SPS SLRA ER RAI #2 Resolution CZMA Consistency Cert. Update Page 7 of 7

Mr. Bruce Sterling, Chief Regional Coordinator Virginia Department of Emergency Management 7511 Burbage Dr. Suffolk, VA 23435

Mr. Jonathan Lynn, Administrator Surry County 45 School Street Surry, VA 23883