MEMORANDUM TO: Brian D. Wittick, Chief

Projects Branch 2

Division of License Renewal

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Elaine Keegan, Senior Project Manager /RA/

Projects Branch 2

Division of License Renewal

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF PUBLIC MEETINGS TO DISCUSS DRAFT

SUPPLEMENT 52 TO THE GENERIC ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT FOR LICENSE RENEWAL OF NUCLEAR PLANTS REGARDING DAVIS-BESSE NUCLEAR GENERATING STATION,

UNIT 1 (TAC NO. ME4613)

On March 25, 2014, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC staff) held two identical public meetings in Port Clinton, OH to discuss the preliminary findings of, and receive public comments on, the draft supplemental environmental impact statement (SEIS) on the proposed renewal of the operating license for Davis-Besse Nuclear Generating Station. The preliminary finding of this report is that the adverse environmental impacts of license renewal for Davis-Besse are not great enough to deny the option of license renewal for energy-planning decision makers. Approximately 40 people attended each meeting. The public comment period closed on April 21, 2014. The staff plans to issue the final SEIS by September 2014.

Below are the NRC staff who attended both meetings.

<u>NRC</u>	<u>Region III</u>
J. Lubinski	V. Mitlyng
R. Hoffman	H. Logaras
B. Wittick	J. Cameron
E. Keegan	D. Hills
A. Rivera	

The listing of attendees for both public meetings is provided in the Enclosure. The official transcripts for both meetings are publicly available at the NRC Public Document Room (PDR), located at One White Flint North, 11555 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Maryland 20852, or from the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS). The ADAMS Public Electronic Reading Room is accessible at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a>. The transcripts for the afternoon and evening meetings are listed under Accession Nos. ML14097A254 and ML14097A253, respectively. Several speakers provided written copies of their statements and one member of the public provided written comments during the afternoon meeting. A copy of the slides used during the NRC's presentation is also available in ADAMS under Accession No. ML14097A272.

Persons who do not have access to ADAMS, or who encounter problems in accessing the documents located in ADAMS, should contact the NRC's PDR reference staff by telephone at 1-800-397-4209, or 301-415-4737, or by e-mail at pdr@nrc.gov.

Docket No. 50-346

Enclosures: As stated

cc w/encls: See next page

Persons who do not have access to ADAMS, or who encounter problems in accessing the documents located in ADAMS, should contact the NRC's PDR reference staff by telephone at 1-800-397-4209, or 301-415-4737, or by e-mail at <a href="mailto:pdr@nrc.gov">pdr@nrc.gov</a>.

Docket No. 50-346

Enclosures: As stated

cc w/encl.

#### **DISTRIBUTION**:

See next page

#### ADAMS Accession Nos.:

- 1. Package: ML14113A586
- 2. Meeting Summary (w/encl.): ML14099A464
- Afternoon Transcript: ML14097A254
   Evening Transcript: ML14097A253
- 5. Slides: ML14097A272

\*concurred via email

OFFICE	PM:DLR:RPB2	LA:RPB1:DLR*	BC:DLR:RPB2	PM:DLR:RPB2
NAME	EKeegan	YEdmonds	BWittick	EKeegan
DATE	04/23/14	04/22/14	05/6/14	05/6/14

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF PUBLIC MEETINGS TO DISCUSS DRAFT SUPPLEMENT 52

TO THE GENERIC ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT FOR LICENSE RENEWAL OF NUCLEAR PLANTS REGARDING DAVIS-BESSE NUCLEAR

GENERATING PLANT, UNIT 1 (TAC NO. ME4613)

## **DISTRIBUTION**:

#### E-MAIL:

**PUBLIC** 

RidsNrrDlr Resource

RidsNrrDlrRpb1 Resource

RidsNrrDlrRpb2 Resource

RidsNrrDlrRarb Resource

RidsNrrDlrRRsrg Resource

RidsNrrDlrRasb Resource

RidsNrrDlrRerb Resource

-----

EKeegan

**JUribe** 

**BWittick** 

BHarris, OGC

**EBrown** 

**AWang** 

MMahoney

DMcIntyre, OPA

VMitlyng,OPA

TRiley,OCA

EWilliamson, OGC

RRihm, EDO

JCameron, RIII

## SIGN-IN SHEET

# Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1 March 25, 2014 – 2:00 p.m.

Name	Affiliation	
Brad Goetz	IBEW Local 1413	
Mike Banko	FE	
Dave Dillon	First Energy	
Debbie Paul	First Energy	
Steve Levorchick	OCSO	
Brad York	OCSO	
Fred Pettersen	Ottawa Co. EMA	
Guy Parmigian	Benton-Carrol-Salem School District	
Jodi Regal	Ottawa Co. Commissioner	
Jim Sass	Ottawa Co. Commissioner	
Larry Ticherne	IBEW Local 1245	
Janet Jodlouski	Ohio Cares	
Dennis Jensen	Ottawa Co.	
Connie Kline	Ohio Cares	
Steven Dort	FENOC	
David Dewitz	FENOC	
Jennifer Young	First Energy	
Victoria Clemons	Resident	
Jim Hart	None	
Tim Coffman	Benton-Carrol-Salem Schools	
Ron Donnzel	GEM Inc.	
Beth Greer	Ottawa EMA	
Cliff Custer	FENOC	
Chuck McCan	IBEW LU 8	
Allen McAllistar	FENOC	
Patricia Smith	FENOC	
Jacki Gezo	FENOC	
Christian A. Hines	FENOC	
Meg Adams	FE	
Mia Moore	FE	
Elizabeth Poole	US EPA Region 5 NEPA	
Pamela Hintz	ODH	
Bill Buckles	UA Local 50#	
Ray Lieb	FENOC	
Eric L. Noderer	Citizen	
Tom Henry	The Blade	
Chris Wamford	Boilermakers #85	
Nick Turner	Office of Rep. Kaptur	
Brian Dickens	Toledo	
Kevin Hurley	IBEW #8	
Tim Rudell	WKSU-NPR	
Steve Hall	Davis-Besse	

# SIGN-IN SHEET Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1 March 25, 2014 – 7:00 p.m.

Name	Affiliation	
Mia Moore	FE	
Meg Adams	FE	
Dave Dillon	FE	
Steve Arndt	Ottawa County Commissioner	
Chuck McCan	IBEW LU 8	
Alex Johnson	FENOC	
Terry Lodge	Intervenors	
Michael Leonardi	Toledo Coalition for Safe Energy	
Jennifer Young	FE Sy	
Don Rutt	(no affiliation given)	
Joseph DeMare	Ohio Green Party	
Dennis Jensen	Ottawa County	
Steve Hall	FE	
Mike Jay	RGP	
Fred Petersen	Ottawa County	
Valerie Crow	Toledo Coalition for Safe Energy	
Pamela Hintz	ODH	
Zsolt Veress	FENOC	
Linda Moss	Toledo Edison/FE	
Jamie Brier Grant	Ottawa County CIC	
Victoria Clemons	Resident	
Bruce Glaser	Resident	
Elizabeth Poole	US EPA Region 5 – NEPA	
Pat Marida	Sierra Club	
Robert L Gordon	(no affiliation given)	
Steven Dort	FENOC	
Cliff Custer	FENOC	
Alicia Rivers	Private citizen	
R. A. Lieb	FENOC	
Mike Banko	FE	
Michael J Keegan	Don't Waste Michigan	
Guy Parmigian	Benton-Carrol-Salem School Districts	
Karen Lieb	(no affiliation given)	
Tony Szilagye	Sierra Club	
Linda Szilagye	Sierra Club	
Randy Westmoreland	DTE Energy	
Molly L. Loy	DTE Energy	
Lynne Goodman	DTE Energy	
Kevin Garn	(no affiliation given)	