

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, D.C. 20555-0001 E-mail: opa.resource@nrc.gov Site: www.nrc.gov

E-mail: opa.resource@nrc.gov Site: www.nrc.gov Blog: http://public-blog.nrc-gateway.gov

No. 11-105 June 14, 2011

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES JUNE 14 IN ROCKVILLE, MD

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its 34th Annual Awards Ceremony at 2 p.m. on Tuesday, June 14, at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center to honor outstanding employees and their important contributions to the agency's success. These are the highest awards the agency gives to its employees. During the ceremony, NRC acknowledged recipients of Presidential Executive Rank Awards, and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards.

"At our agency, we serve the American people by protecting public health, safety, security, and the environment," said NRC Chairman Gregory B. Jaczko. "Our mission is constant and critical. It could not be more important. And it could not be carried out without the kind of talent, expertise, and dedication we see throughout our agency's staff – and that is exemplified by the outstanding individuals we are honoring today."

The following individuals are NRC's award recipients for 2010:

Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Awards

Elmo E. Collins, Jr.

Rebecca L. Schmidt

Stephen D. Dingbaum	Assistant Inspector General For Audits, Office of the Inspector General
Michele G. Evans	Director, Division of Component Integrity, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
Catherine Haney	Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
Arthur T. Howell, III	Deputy Regional Administrator, Region IV
Corenthis B. Kelley	Director, Office of Small Business and Civil Rights
Melvyn N. Leach (Retired)	Director, Division of Preparedness and Response, Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response
Steven A. Reynolds	Director, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III
Irwin B. Rothschild, III	Associate General Counsel for Licensing and Regulation

Office of the General Counsel

Director, Office of Congressional Affairs

Regional Administrator, Region IV

Distinguished Service Awards

Mary Ann M. Ashley Technical Assistant for Enforcement, Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation

Mel Holmberg Reactor Inspector, Region III

Clare V. Kasputys Executive Technical Assistant, Office of the Executive

Director for Operations

Meritorious Service Awards for Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Gail M. Christoffer Baruch Program Manager, Region III

Alicia J. Mullins Project Manager, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and

Safeguards

Aida E. Rivera-Varona Technical Assistant, Office of New Reactors

Honorary Meritorious Service Awards

Rateb (Boby) M. Abu-Eid, Ph.D. Senior Technical Advisor, Office of Federal and State

Materials and Environmental Management Programs

Patricia A. Milligan, CHP Senior Technical Advisor, Office of Nuclear Security

and Incident Response

Meritorious Service Awards

Susan Abraham Deputy Director, Division of Program Management,

Policy Development and Analysis Staff, Office of

Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Jesse A. Arildsen Executive Technical Assistant, Office of the Executive

Director for Operations

Neelam Bhalla, M.S. Senior Project Manager, Office of Federal and State

Materials and Environmental Management Programs

Cynthia S. Bixler Operator Licensing Assistant, Region I
Patricia L. Buckley Administrative Assistant, Region III

Stephanie P. Bush-Goddard, Ph.D. Chief, Health Effects Branch, Office of Nuclear

Regulatory Research

Rich C. Chou (*Retired*) Reactor Inspector, Region II

Michael D. Collins Senior Information Management Analyst, Office of

Information Services

Janis K. Dambly Chief, Program Management, Policy Development and

Analysis Branch, Office of Administration

Joseph E. DeCicco, CHP Senior Health Physicist, Office of Federal and State

Materials and Environmental Management Programs

Joseph E. Donoghue Chief, Reactor Systems, Nuclear Performance and Code

Review Branch, Office of New Reactors

Carl A. Fredericks Chief, Financial Systems Branch, Office of the Chief

Financial Officer

Nancy S. Greathead Administration and Litigation Analyst, Office of the

Secretary

Steven Griffin Senior Building Management Specialist, Office of

Administration

Charles Craig Harbuck, Ph.D. Senior Reactor Engineer, Office of New Reactors

Geoffrey Hornseth Senior Materials Engineer, Office of Nuclear Materials

Safety and Safeguards

Gordon K. Hunegs Senior Resident Inspector, Region I

Nancy L. Johns Team Leader, Office of Human Resources

Steve F. LaVie Senior Emergency Preparedness Specialist, Office of

Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Ming Luo Information Technology Specialist, Region III

Mark S. Miller Deputy Associate Director, Technical Training Center,

Office of Human Resources

Robert L. Monk Senior Resident Inspector, Region II

Wallace E. Norris Senior Materials Engineer, Office of Nuclear Regulatory

Research

Lucy A. Owen Administrative Assistant, Region IV

Michael L. Scott Deputy Director, Division of Systems Analysis, Office

of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Raeann M. Shane Senior Intergovernmental and External Affairs Officer,

Office of Congressional Affairs

Joseph L. Staudenmeier, Ph.D. Senior Reactor Systems Engineer, Office of Nuclear

Regulatory Research

Robert J. Summers Senior Enforcement Specialist, Office of Enforcement

Jeffrey A. Teator Senior Special Agent, Region I

David Tiktinsky Senior Project Manager, Office of Nuclear Materials

Safety and Safeguards

Susan L. Uttal, Esq. Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel

Victoria Voytko Chief, Financial and Performance Management Branch,

Office of Information Services

Sandra D. Walker Management Analyst, Office of Nuclear Reactor

Regulation

###