February 28, 2005

Mr. R. Dennis Brown, Director
Office of Quality Assurance
Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
U. S. Department of Energy
P.O. Box 364629
Mail Stop 523
North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION OBSERVATION AUDIT REPORT

NO. OAR-05-01, OBSERVATION AUDIT OF THE OFFICE OF QUALITY

ASSURANCE AUDIT OCRWMP-OQA-05-20 OF BECHTEL SAIC

COMPANY, LLC

Dear Mr. Brown:

I am transmitting the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Observation Audit Report No. OAR–05–01. This report is about the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Quality Assurance, audit of Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC (BSC) conducted at the BSC facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. The audit team conducted this audit on January 24–28, 2005.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of General Applicability," a copy of this letter will be available electronically in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publically Available Records component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html.

A written response to this letter and the enclosed report is not required; however. If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Thomas Matula at 301–415–6700.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Elmo Collins, Deputy Director Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure:

The U.S. NRC Observation Audit Report OAR-05-01, Observation Audit of the Office of Quality Assurance Audit OCRWMP-OQA-05-20 of Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC

cc: See attached list.

Letter to R. D. Brown from E. C. Collins, dated: February 28, 2005 CC: A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force I. Navis, Clark County, NV W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C. G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C. R. Damele, Eureka County, NV C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD A. Remus, Inyo County, CA R. Dyer, DOE/ORD M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV A. Gil, DOE/ORD M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV W. Boyle, DOE/ORD L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM D. Swanson, Nye County, NV S.A. Wade,, DOE/ORD M. Maher, Nye County, NV C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV T. Gunter, DOE/ORD M. Simon, White Pine County, NV A. Benson, DOE/ORD J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD B. J. Vonderheide, NV Congressional R. L. Craun, DOE/ORD Delegation T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation M. Mason, BSC R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation S. Cereghino, BSC M. Murphy N. Williams, BSC S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation E. Mueller, BSC K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation J. Mitchell, BSC R. Loux, State of NV D. Beckman, BSC/B&A S. Frishman, State of NV M. Voegele, BSC/SAID

B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

S. Lynch, State of NV

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau

- cc: (Continued)
- R. McCullum, NEI
- S. Kraft, NEI
- J. Kessler, EPRI
- D. Duncan, USGS
- R. Craig, USGS
- W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
- C. Marden, BNFL Inc.
- J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- T. Kingham, GAO
- D. Feehan, GAO
- E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications
- G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation
- P. Johnson, Citizen Alert
- A. Capoferri, DOE/Washington, DC
- J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC
- A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler
- M. Dayton, City of Las Vegas
- D. Wilson, Sen. Reid's Office
- L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.
- J. Donnell, DOE/ORD
- R. L. Craun, OPM&E
- B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe
- R. Murray, DOE/ORD

- R. Holden, NCAI
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- J. C. Saulgue, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute
- D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen
- J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV
- I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council
- S. Devlin
- G. Hudlow
- D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams
- L. Alfano, Lincoln County
- M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office
- D. Duquette, NWTRB

Mr. R. Dennis Brown, Director
Office of Quality Assurance
Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
U. S. Department of Energy
P.O. Box 364629
Mail Stop 523
North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION OBSERVATION AUDIT

REPORT NO. OAR-05-01, OBSERVATION AUDIT OF THE OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE AUDIT OCRWMP-OQA-05-20 OF BECHTEL SAIC

COMPANY, LLC

Dear Mr. Brown:

I am transmitting the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Observation Audit Report No. OAR–05–01. This report is about the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Quality Assurance, audit of Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC (BSC) conducted at the BSC facility in Las Vegas, Nevada. The audit team conducted this audit on January 24–28, 2005.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of General Applicability," a copy of this letter will be available electronically in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publically Available Records component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html.

A written response to this letter and the enclosed report is not required; however. If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Thomas Matula at 301–415–6700.

Sincerely,
/RA/
Elmo Collins, Deputy Director
Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards

Enclosure:

The U.S. NRC Observation Audit Report OAR-05-01, Observation Audit of the Office of Quality Assurance Audit OCRWMP-OQA-05-20 of Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC

cc: See attached list.

DISTRIBUTION:

HLWRS r/f	ACNW	VMehrhoff	CNWRA	LKokajko	ECollins
KMcConnell	JGuttmann	KStablein	ACampbell	MBailey	FBrown
LChandler	MYoung	JMoore	MZobler	MWoods	TCombs
BSpitzberg	WMaier	GMorell	GHiggs	SRohrer	GHatchett

ML050490373

OFC	HLWRS	Tech Ed	HLWRS	OGC	HLWRS
NAME	TKobetz	EKraus	FBrown	JMoore	ECollins
DATE	02/18/05	02/25/05	02/28/05	02/28/05	02/28/05