## United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 96-143

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Wednesday, October 16, 1996)

24TH ANNUAL NRC WATER REACTOR SAFETY INFORMATION MEETING TO BE HELD OCT. 21-23 IN BETHESDA, MD.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's 24th annual Water Reactor Safety Information Meeting, featuring presentations and discussions on a number of leading technical topics, will be held Monday through Wednesday of next week (October 21-23) at the Bethesda (Md.) Marriott Hotel.

Participants will include representatives from NRC, U.S. government laboratories, private contractors, universities, the Electric Power Research Institute, reactor vendors, and a number of foreign agencies.

NRC Commissioner Kenneth Rogers will deliver the keynote speech at 8:30 a. m. Monday at the opening plenary session, which will also feature a panel discussion on "Research Needs for Riskinformed, Performance-based Regulation." Themis Speis, deputy director of the NRC Office of Research, will address the meeting luncheon on Tuesday. At the second plenary session at 8:30 a. m. Wednesday, James M. Taylor, the NRC's executive director for operations, will moderate a panel discussion on "The Role of Research in Nuclear Regulation."

During the three-day meeting, presentations will be made in seven technical areas — high burnup fuel; reactor pressure vessel embrittlement and thermal annealing; digital instrumentation and control; probabilistic seismic hazard assessment and seismic siting criteria; reactor vessel lower head integrity; containment and structural aging; and steam generator tube integrity.

Those wishing to attend are asked to register with the meeting coordinator, Susan Monteleone of Brookhaven National Laboratory, Building 130, P. O. Box 5000, Upton, NY 11973-5000. The telephone number is 516/344-7235, and the fax number is 516/344-3957. Ms. Monteleone's electronic mail address is SMONTELE@BNL.GOV. This Friday (October 18) is the deadline for advance registration.