United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 98-199

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (November 3, 1998)

COMMISSION TO MEET WITH STAKEHOLDERS NOVEMBER 13

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will meet with several invited stakeholders Friday, November 13, to discuss concerns about the NRC's regulatory program and to follow up on issues raised at a previous stakeholders' meeting in July.

The meeting, which will be open to the public, will be held from 9:00 a.m. until 12:00 noon. If necessary, the meeting will continue after the lunch break, from 1:30 until 3:00 p.m. It will be in the auditorium of the NRC headquarters Two White Flint North building, 11545 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Md. NRC's headquarters complex is near the White Flint Station on the Washington Metro Red Line at the intersection of Rockville Pike and Marinelli Road.

NRC Chairman Shirley Ann Jackson will preside. Also taking part will be Commissioners Greta J. Dicus, Nils J. Diaz, Edward McGaffigan Jr., and Jeffrey Merrifield.

The meeting will focus on the NRC staff's progress in addressing issues raised during the July 17 stakeholders' meeting and during recent Congressional hearings. These issues concern the inspection and performance assessment process; the enforcement program; license renewal; license transfers; transition to a risk-informed, performance-based regulatory framework; and other issues under review.

Once again the sessions will be in a round-table format to help the Commission conduct a dialogue with the invitees. Participants will provide comments on the power reactor portion of the agency's plan regarding its direction, metrics for success, and other potential issues.

Among those participating, in addition to the five Commissioners, will be:

- Erle Nye, chairman and chief executive officer, Texas Utilities, and chairman of the Nuclear Energy Institute;
- Joe F. Colvin, president and chief executive officer, Nuclear Energy Institute;
- Corbin A. McNeill Jr., president and chief executive officer, PECO Energy Co., and a director of the Nuclear Energy Institute;
- Dr. James T. Rhodes, chairman and CEO, Institute of Nuclear Power Operations;
- Harold B. Ray, executive vice president, Southern California Edison Co;

- David A. Lochbaum, nuclear safety engineer, Union of Concerned Scientists;
- Dr. Forrest J. Remick, former NRC Commissioner and former associate vice president for research and professor of nuclear engineering, The Pennsylvania State University;
- Dr. William D. Travers, Executive Director for Operations, NRC;
- Sam Collins, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, NRC;
- James P. Riccio, Public Citizen's Critical Mass Energy Project;
- Gary Jones, associate director, Energy, Resources, and Science Issues, U.S. General Accounting Office;
- Jill Lipoti, Assistant Director for Radiation Protection Programs, State of New Jersey.

###