U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs, Region IV 611 Ryan Plaza Drive - Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-8064

RIV:	96-41	FOR	IMMEDIATE RELEASE
CONTACT:	Breck Henderson		June 17, 1996
OFFICE:	817/860-8128		
PAGER:	(800) 443-7243 (065477)		

NRC PROPOSES TO FINE UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA \$2,500 FOR LEAVING RADIOACTIVE DRUGS UNATTENDED

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has proposed a \$2,500 civil penalty against the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City for violation of NRC requirements governing the security of radioactive materials.

An NRC inspector last September saw a delivery driver leave radioactive drugs unattended in an unlocked vehicle. Later NRC investigation found that similar actions had happened at other times.

NRC rules require that licensed radioactive materials be tightly controlled and under constant surveillance when the public could have access to them. The violation has been rated severity level III in the NRC's four-level system. Severity level I is the most serious.

NRC Regional Administrator L. Joe Callan said in a letter to University of Oklahoma provost Dr. Joseph J. Ferretti: "Although the incident in question resulted in material being left unattended for only a brief period of time, the NRC's inspection and investigation found that the involved driver made a decision to leave the material unattended despite being aware of requirements to secure such material, and that he left material unattended on other occasions, including deliveries performed earlier on the same day."

"As an NRC licensee, you are responsible for ensuring that licensed material is protected from loss into the public domain, where it could be subject to theft or tampering," Mr. Callan warned.

As corrective action, the University issued verbal and written reprimands to the driver involved and instructed all drivers in the requirements and methods to secure radioactive material. Also, all users of radioactive materials were reminded through a campus newsletter of the significance of failing to keep the materials secure.

The University must respond to the Notice of Violation in writing within 30 days. The response must document specific actions taken to prevent recurrence of the incident. During this time the University may pay the fine or file a protest.

####