United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 96-116

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Wednesday, August 28, 1996)

NRC ONCE AGAIN HAS FULL FIVE-MEMBER COMMISSION

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission today has a full fivemember Commission for the first time in three years.

The two newest commissioners, Dr. Nils J. Diaz and Edward McGaffigan Jr., have been sworn in and begun their duties. Mr. McGaffigan was administered his oath of office in a small private ceremony this morning at NRC headquarters by NRC Chairman Shirley Ann Jackson. Dr. Diaz was sworn in last Friday (August 23) by Federal Judge Frederick Moreno in a ceremony at the Miami (Fla.) City Hall.

They joined Chairman Jackson and Commissioners Kenneth Rogers and Greta J. Dicus at the Commission briefing today on the certification of U.S. Enrichment Corporation facilities. It was the first time since June 1993 that all five commissioner seats have been filled.

Dr. Diaz, whose term runs until June 30, 2001, was a professor of nuclear engineering sciences at the University of Florida. Mr. McGaffigan was a senior science and defense advisor to Sen. Jeff Bingaman of New Mexico and is a former Foreign Service officer. His term ends on June 30, 2000.

###