United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 96-69

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Thursday, May 16, 1996)

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its Nineteenth Annual Awards Ceremony in Rockville, Maryland, today to honor a number of employees for superior performance. The ceremony was hosted by Chairman Shirley Ann Jackson who was joined by James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations, to present individual awards to employees.

Certificates for the 1995 <u>Presidential Distinguished</u> <u>Executive Rank Awards</u> were presented to James L. Milhoan, Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Regional Operations and Research, Office of the Executive Director for Operations (EDO); Carl J. Paperiello, Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS); and William T. Russell, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR).

Certificates for <u>Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank</u> <u>Awards</u> were presented to:

Elinor G. Adensam, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects III/IV, NRR;

Thomas J. Barchi, Assistant Inspector General for Audits, Office of the Inspector General (IG);

Samuel J. Chilk, Director, Commission Decision Tracking System Project, Office of the Secretary;

Stewart D. Ebneter, Regional Administrator, Region II in Atlanta, Georgia;

Ellis W. Merschoff, Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Region II;

Vandy L. Miller, Director, Office of Small Business and Civil Rights;

Scott F. Newberry, Project Director, License Renewal and Environmental Review Project Directorate, NRR; Peter J. Rabideau, Director, Division of Budget and Analysis, Office of the Controller;

Dennis K. Rathbun, Director, Office of Congressional Affairs;

Carlton R. Stoiber, Director, Office of International Programs; and

James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations.

An honorary recipient of the <u>NRC's Distinguished Service</u> <u>Award</u>, the highest honor given by the agency, was Mr. Milhoan.

Thirty-six employees received the NRC's <u>Meritorious Service</u> <u>Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given for meritorious achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients received a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award were:

Honorary

W. William Brach, Deputy Director, Division of Fuel Cycle Safety and Safeguards (NMSS);

Administrative Excellence

Jeanne Cucura, Contract Specialist, Division of Contracts, Office of Administration;

Roland M. Lickus, Regional State Liaison Officer, Office of the Regional Administrator, Region III in Lisle, Illinois;

Mary M. Matheson, Senior Transportation Assistant, Travel Services Section, Office of the Controller;

Theodore R. Stansbury, Jr., Chief, Distribution and Mail Services Section, Office of Administration;

Mary L. Tenaglia, Program Assistant, Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication;

Virginia K. Tolson, Resource Management Analyst, Division of Resource Management, Region I in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania;

James Turdici, Special Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer, EDO;

Engineering Excellence

Steven A. Arndt, Technical Training Advisor, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data;

Sudhamay Basu, Research Engineer, Accident Evaluation Branch, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research (RES);

David E. Bessette, Senior Reactor Engineer, Reactor and Plant Systems Branch, Division of Systems Technology, RES;

Edwin M. Hackett, Senior Materials Engineer, Materials and Chemical Engineering Branch, NRR;

Larry L. Scholl, Reactor Engineer, Electrical Engineering Branch, Region I;

Gene Y. Suh, Senior Reactor Systems Engineer, Inspection Program Branch, NRR;

Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Maria E. Lopez-Otin, Federal Liaison Program Manager, Office of State Programs;

Thomas E. Smith, Reference Librarian, Public Documents Branch, Office of the Secretary;

Health Physicist Excellence

James P. Dwyer, Senior Health Physicist, Division of Nuclear Materials Safety, Region I;

Patricia K. Holahan, Health Physicist, Medical, Academic and Commercial Use Safety Branch, NMSS;

Investigating/Auditing Excellence

Matthew T. Alessandrino, Criminal Investigator, IG.

Virginia J. Van Cleave, Senior Special Agent, Region IV field office in Walnut Creek, California, Office of Investigations;

Legal Excellence

Marjorie S. Nordlinger, Senior Attorney (International),
Office of the General Counsel;

Management Excellence

Richard P. Correia, Section Chief, Quality Assurance and Maintenance Branch, NRR;

Jacqueline F. Jackson, Chief, Employment and Staffing Programs, Office of Personnel;

Mark S. Lesser, Chief, Reactor Projects Branch No.6 in Region II;

George Pangburn, Section Leader, Operations Branch, Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS;

John L. Pellet, Chief, Operations Branch, Division of Reactor Safety, Region IV in Arlington, Texas;

James B. Schaeffer, Chief, Technology Infrastructure Branch, Office of Information Resources Management;

Project Manager Excellence

James Randall Hall, Senior Project Manager, Division of Reactor Projects III/IV, NRR;

Region-Based Inspector Excellence

Edward H. Girard, Reactor Inspector, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II;

Linda Joy Smith, Reactor Inspector, Division of Reactor Safety, Region IV;

Resident Inspector Excellence

Thomas R. Farnholtz, Resident Inspector, Summer Resident Office in South Carolina, Division of Reactor Projects in Region II;

Senior Resident Inspector Excellence

Christopher G. Miller, Senior Resident Inspector, Quad Cities Resident Office in Illinois, Region III;

<u>Scientific Excellence (Honorary)</u>

Martin J. Steindler, member of the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste;

Secretarial Excellence

Carol Jo Gordon, Secretary, Office of the Regional Administrator in Region IV;

Noble S. Green, Jr., Secretary, License Renewal and Environmental Review Project Directorate, NRR;

Support Staff Excellence

Patricia Janet Noonan, Licensing Assistant, Division of Reactor Projects III/IV, NRR.

#