No. 92-60 Tel. No. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, April 21, 1992)

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its Fifteenth Annual Awards Ceremony on April 20 in Rockville, MD, to honor its employees who, over the past year, have demonstrated superior performance. The ceremony was hosted by Chairman Ivan Selin who was joined by James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations, to present individual awards to employees.

Certificates for the **1991 Presidential Distinguished Rank** <u>Awards</u> were presented to Joseph F. Scinto, Deputy General Counsel for Hearings, Enforcement and Administration, Office of the General Counsel (OGC), and Hugh L. Thompson, Jr., Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Materials Safety, Safeguards & Operation Support, Office of the Executive Director Operations (EDO).

Certificates for **<u>Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank</u>** <u>Awards</u> were presented to:

Bruce A. Boger, Director, Division of Reactor Project--III, IV, V, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR);

Lawrence J. Chandler, Assistant General Counsel for Hearings and Enforcement, OGC;

Edward G. Greenman, Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Region III (Glen Ellyn, IL);

Clemens J. Heltemes, Jr., Deputy Director for Generic Issues & Rulemaking, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research (RES);

Gary M. Holahan, Deputy Director, Division of Systems Technology, NRR;

John C. Hoyle, Assistant Secretary, Office of the Secretary of the Commission (SECY);

Patricia G. Norry, Director, Office of Administration (ADM);

Luis A. Reyes, Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Region II (Atlanta, GA);

-2-

Jack W. Roe, Director, Division of Licensee Performance and Quality Evaluation, NRR;

Elizabeth Q. Ten Eyck, Deputy Director, Division of Safeguards & Transportation, Office of Nuclear Material Safety & Safeguards (NMSS);

Stuart A. Treby, Assistant General Counsel for Rulemaking and Fuel Cycle, OGC; and

Martin J. Virgilio, Assistant Director for Regions IV (Arlington, TX) and V (Walnut Creek, CA), Reactors, NRR.

The **NRC's Distinguished Service Award**, the highest honor given by the agency, was presented to six employees for outstanding achievement or contribution of major significance to NRC. All but honorary recipients received a \$6,000 cash award. The recipients of this award were:

Edward L. Jordan, Director, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data (AEOD), honorary;

Frank J. Miraglia, Jr., Deputy Director, NRR, honorary;

William C. Parler, General Counsel, honorary;

David A. Ward, Chairman, Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS), honorary;

C. Margo Bridgers, Chief, Administrative and Correspondence Branch, EDO, for administrative excellence; and

Alma B. Johnson, Secretary to the Director, NRR, secretarial excellence.

Thirty-eight employees received the <u>Meritorious Service</u> <u>Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given for meritorious and excellent achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients received a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award were:

Honorary

Ben. B. Hayes, Director, Office of Investigations;

Charles E. MacDonald, Chief, Transportation Branch, Division of Safeguards and Transportation, NMSS;

Vandy L. Miller, Assistant Director for State Agreement Programs, Office of State Programs;

-3-

Edwin J. Reis, Deputy Assistant General Counsel for Reactor Licensing, Hearings and Enforcement Division, OGC; and

Ross A. Scarano, Director, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region V.

Administrative Excellence

Laura S. Gerke, Congressional Affairs Officer, Office of Congressional Affairs;

Raymond P. Gustave, Chief, Financial Management Branch, Program Management, Policy Development and Analysis Staff, RES;

C. James Holloway, jr., Assistant for Fee Policy and Rules, Office of the Controller (OC); and

Janice P. Hunter, Team Leader, White Flint Satellite Office, Employment and Staffing Programs, Office of Personnel.

Engineering Excellence

Sonia D. Burgess, Reactor Inspector, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III;

James L. Caldwell, Senior Regional Coordinator and Program Engineer, EDO (Currently Chief, Non-Power Reactor Operator Licensing, NRR);

Richard B. Codell, Senior Systems Performance Analyst, Hydrology and Systems Performance Branch, Division of High-Level Waste Management, NMSS;

John R. Jolicoeur, Reactor Safety Engineer, Incident Response Branch, Division of Operational Assessment, AEOD;

Joseph Muscara, Senior Metallurgical Engineer, Materials Engineering Branch, Division of Engineering, RES;

Jerome Roth, Fuel Facilities Project Engineer, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region I (King of Prussia, PA);

Thomas G. Scarbrough, Senior Mechanical Engineer, Mechanical Engineering Branch, Division of Engineering Technology, NRR; and

Robert E. Wilson, Senior Nuclear Process Engineer, Fuel Cycle Safety Branch, Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS.

-4-

Health Physics Excellence

Shlomo S. Yaniv, Senior Health Physicist, Radiation Protection and Health Effects Branch, Division of Regulatory Applications, RES.

Investigation/Auditing Excellence

Frank B. Forgione, Senior Criminal Investigator, Office of the Inspector General.

<u>Legal Excellence</u>

Brian T. Kildee, Senior Attorney, Contracts, Administration Division, OGC; and

James R. Wolf, Senior Attorney, Division of Rulemaking and Fuel Cycle, OGC.

Management Excellence

Edward T. Baker III, Deputy Director, OE;

Robert J. Dube, Chief, Performance Assessment Section, Safeguards Branch, Division of Reactor Inspection and Safeguards, NRR;

Donnie H. Grimsley, Director, Division of Freedom of Information and Publications Services, ADM;

Emile L. Julian, Chief, Docketing and Service Branch, SECY;

Elva W. Leins, Former Director, Program Support and Analysis Staff, Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel; and

John C. Voglewede, Deputy Director, Division of Information Support Services, Office of Information Resources Management (IRM).

Project Manager Excellence

David L. Wigginton, Senior Project Manager, Waterford Steam Electric Generating Station (Louisiana), Project Directorate IV-1, Division of Reactor Projects III/IV/V, NRR.

Region-Based Inspector Excellence

Billy R. Crowley, Reactor Inspector, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II; and

Linda L. Kasner, Senior Radiation Specialist, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region IV.

-5-

Residence Inspector Excellence

Antone C. Cerne, Senior Resident Inspector for Construction, Seabrook Nuclear Station (New Hampshire), Division of Reactor Projects, Region I (Currently Resident Inspector, Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station (Massachusetts); and

Walter G. Rogers III, Senior Resident Inspector, Dresden Nuclear Power Station (Illinois), Division of Reactor Projects, Region III.

Scientific Excellence

P. Clare Goodman, Senior Human Factors Specialist, Human Factors Assessment Branch, Division of Licensee Performance and Quality Evaluation, NRR;

Philip Ting, Section Leader, Physical Security and Material Control & Accountability Licensing and Inspection Section, Domestic Safeguards and Regional Oversight Branch, NMSS.

Secretarial Excellence

Hellan E. Kreeger, Secretary to the Regional Administrator, Region II; and

Deborah V. Pulley, Secretary, Administration Division, OGC.

Support Staff Excellence

Mary L. Franklin, Fiscal Accounting Technician, Payroll Branch, Division of Accounting and Finance, OC; and

Gladys M. Ordaz, Public Affairs Research Assistant, Office of Public Affairs.

Equal Employment Opportunity Award

Brenda Jo. Shelton, Chief, Information and Records Management Branch, Division of Information Support Services, IRM.